Barbados Motoring Federation

Provisional Motor Sport Calendar 2020

Feb 2 – Time Attack (BARL) – Bushy Park
Feb 9 - Kart Race Meet (BKA) – Bushy Park
Feb 22 - Autocross (BRC) – Bushy Park
Feb 23 - Drag Racing (BADD) – Bushy Park
Mar 1 - Race Meet (BPMSI) – Bushy Park
Mar 8 - Kart Race Meet (BKA) – Bushy Park
Mar 15 – Race Meet (BARL) – Bushy Park
Mar 15 - Navigational Rally (BRC MudDogs) – Islandwide
Mar 22 – Single Venue Rally (VRMSC) – Vaucluse Raceway
Mar 29 – Double-header Sprint (MCBI) – venue to be confirmed

McCartney & Bynoe are 2018 BPMSI Champions

Devan McCartney is Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc’s (BPMSI) Champion Driver for 2018, with Kevin Bynoe claiming the Champion Rider crown. At the third and final round of the Club’s 2018 Championship season during the Williams Digicel International Race Meet at the St Philip facility on September 1/2, McCartney claimed a hat-trick of Group 1/Class 2 wins, while Bynoe clinched the Superstock Bike title by just one point.

Team Barbados scores top at Williams Digicel International

Team Barbados was the top points-scorer in the third round of the Seaboard Marine Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) at the Williams Digicel International Race Meet last weekend (September 1/2). More than 20 local drivers contributed to the 527 points scored, moving Barbados from fourth to second in the Country Championship standings, with Mark Maloney and Devan McCartney the round three Champion Drivers in CMRC Group 4 and the new-for-2018 Gp1 respectively.

Vieira returns to Bushy Park CMRC at Williams International

Multiple Guyana Motor Racing & Sports Club (GMR&SC) Champion Mark Vieira will compete in the Seaboard Marine Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) at Bushy Park Barbados for the first time in four years when he lines up alongside fellow-countryman Andrew King at the Williams Industries International Race Meet next weekend (September 1/2)

Williams Industries to sponsor Bushy Park CMRC International

Williams Industries is confirmed as title sponsor of round three of the 2018 Seaboard Marine Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC), to be staged at Bushy Park Barbados next month (September 1/2). The local conglomerate thereby maintains its unbroken record of title sponsorship for the island’s qualifying round, which dates back to 2008 when Barbados became part of the current CMRC, following annual support for earlier regional race meets at the St Philip facility since 2004.

T&T’s Bhola & Boodoosingh for SR3 Cup at Bushy Park

Stop press – Friday, July 6: team-mates from Trinidad & Tobago, Luke Bhola and Kristian Boodoosingh, will make their Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup debuts in round two at Bushy Park Barbados tomorrow (Saturday, July 7); the news was confirmed late Friday, as the cars returning from the opening round of the series in T&T two weeks ago were being unpacked.

Racegoers to remember John ‘Tiny’ Harrison next month

A legend of island motor sport will be remembered by racegoers on Sunday, May 6, when Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc (BPMSI) stages the John ‘Tiny’ Harrison Memorial Race Meet at the St Philip facility. The race programme will feature the second of four rounds of BPMSI’s 2018 Championship, which is currently being led by former bike racer Devan McCartney in his Honda CRX.

McCartney wins big as BPMSI opens 2018 season

Devan McCartney was the big winner as Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc (BPMSI) launched its 2018 Championship season last Sunday (March 25). Although entries were lower than anticipated, the races produced some quality action, with track conditions changing throughout the afternoon. Driving his familiar orange Zephirins Bakery/C & A Autobody Repair Honda CRX, former bike racer McCartney won Group 1 Class 2 in all three races, taking an early lead in the BPMSI Champion Driver title chase . . . just as he did at last year’s opening round.


Lifetime Achievement Awards recognise members’ contributions

Six decades of motor sport were celebrated on Saturday evening (February 3) when the Barbados Rally Club (BRC) combined its Annual Prizegiving at Mahogany Ridge, St Thomas, with a celebration of its 60th Anniversary, reached in 2017. The outstanding contributions of four long-standing members were rewarded with Lifetime Achievement Awards, while a number of the Club’s commercial partners were also recognised, along with the marshals, medical support teams and the media.

Changes at Barbados Motoring Federation ahead of new season

As the Barbados Motoring Federation (BMF) prepares for this weekend’s start of the 2018 motor sport season, it does so without long-standing Vice-President John Sealy, who has retired. In a heartfelt tribute to the former VP, BMF President Andrew Mallalieu acknowledged that “replacing John with just one person is impossible”, so there will be some changes in the BMF structure.


© 2024