Momentum shifts in BKA Championship standings

Zak Mayers has increased his advantage in the Sectus Technologies Barbados Karting Association (BKA) Championship following a thrilling day of wheel-to-wheel racing at Bushy Park Barbados on Sunday (April 7). The Crane & Equipment Raceday was free from major incidents or penalties, producing five different race-winners, with another five drivers claiming podium places, and a shuffle in the standings as the momentum shifted in two of the BKA’s three classes.


Duckworth the 10th R5 entry for Rally Barbados

Confirmation that former UK National Rally Champion, Britain’s Roger Duckworth, will enter Rally Barbados 2024 (May 31-June 2) brings to 10 the entries posted in the FIA R5 class, which has produced the overall winner in two of the last three editions of the event. Duckworth is one of four UK entries confirmed today, driving a range of Ford rally cars, which will comprise more than half of the shipment due early next month.


Mayers keen to keep the lead at BKA round three

As competition intensifies in the Sectus Technologies Barbados Karting Association (BKA) Championship, points leader Zak Mayers is determined to retain his advantage this weekend. A maximum four wins last month catapulted the Easykart 100cc Juniors class leader to the top of the overall standings ahead of Crane & Equipment Raceday, round three of the championship, which runs off at Bushy Park Barbados on Sunday (April 7).


Barbados Rally Club confirms its 2024 calendar

Two intense days of competition at the end of April will start the chase for the Barbados Rally Club’s (BRC) 2024 Champion Driver title. Ahead of the opening rounds at the end of this month, the BRC has confirmed the dates for its Driver’s and Class Championships, along with the Annual Prizegiving which will celebrate the 15 new Champions who joined the Club’s roll of honour during the 2023 season.


Solid start to island season ahead of Rally Barbados

Rally Barbados 2024 organisers are predicting a bumper year for local entries when the 34th edition of the Barbados Rally Club’s (BRC) premier event is staged in two months’ time (May 31-June 2). The island’s new season started on a high note on Sunday (March 24) as fans turned out in their numbers to cheer on more than 40 drivers in the year’s first closed-road event, a record number for a seasonal curtain-raiser in recent years.


Gregg wins thrilling Rally2 Championship opener

Two blistering sub-three-minute runs through the final stages of Sunday’s (March 24) opening round of the 2024 Barbados Rally2 Championship sponsored by CIBC Caribbean sealed a first category win for Jamaica’s Kyle Gregg. In a thrilling start to the season, margins were measured in tenths and hundredths, Gregg beating early leader Rob Swann from the UK by just one second.


Historic trio from the UK head for Rally Barbados

Forty-five years after starting his rallying career in a Ford Escort MkI, two-time Scottish Tarmac Champion Robin Hamilton will give his recently completed ‘new’ MkI its toughest test yet in Rally Barbados 2024 (May 31-June 2). He is one of three UK entries confirmed today (Friday) for the event’s Historic classes, alongside fellow returnees Chris Shooter (Escort MkII) and Mick Smith (Sunbeam Imp).


Barbados Rally2 Championship starts this weekend

With a new title, new marketing partners and an increase in competitors from home and overseas, the 2024 Barbados Rally2 Championship gets under way this weekend. Season three of the Barbados Motoring Federation’s (BMF) first-ever national motor sport championship also features a revised points system and a new two-day finale, while support for island charities remains a key commitment.


Barbados Rally2 Championship Calendar of events 2024

Round 1, Mar 24 – * Spring Blaze Double-Header Sprint (MCBI)
Round 2, Apr 28 - Shakedown Stages (BRC)
Round 3, May 26 – King of the Hill (BRC)
Rounds 4 & 5, May 31–Jun 2 – Rally Barbados 2024 (BRC)
Round 6, Sep 14 – Rally of the Sun & Stars (MCBI)
Round 7, Nov 17 – Winter Rally (BRC)
Rounds 8 & 9, Nov 30/Dec 1 – Special Stage Rally (VRMSC) 

* for Rally2 Championship purposes, times will be calculated cumulatively and results will be scored as a Rally



© 2024