Racegoers to remember John ‘Tiny’ Harrison next month

A legend of island motor sport will be remembered by racegoers on Sunday, May 6, when Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc (BPMSI) stages the John ‘Tiny’ Harrison Memorial Race Meet at the St Philip facility. The race programme will feature the second of four rounds of BPMSI’s 2018 Championship, which is currently being led by former bike racer Devan McCartney in his Honda CRX.

McCartney wins big as BPMSI opens 2018 season

Devan McCartney was the big winner as Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc (BPMSI) launched its 2018 Championship season last Sunday (March 25). Although entries were lower than anticipated, the races produced some quality action, with track conditions changing throughout the afternoon. Driving his familiar orange Zephirins Bakery/C & A Autobody Repair Honda CRX, former bike racer McCartney won Group 1 Class 2 in all three races, taking an early lead in the BPMSI Champion Driver title chase . . . just as he did at last year’s opening round.


Lifetime Achievement Awards recognise members’ contributions

Six decades of motor sport were celebrated on Saturday evening (February 3) when the Barbados Rally Club (BRC) combined its Annual Prizegiving at Mahogany Ridge, St Thomas, with a celebration of its 60th Anniversary, reached in 2017. The outstanding contributions of four long-standing members were rewarded with Lifetime Achievement Awards, while a number of the Club’s commercial partners were also recognised, along with the marshals, medical support teams and the media.

Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc celebrates its 2017 Champions

Members of Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc (BPMSI) gathered in the Cafeteria at Bushy Park Barbados after the Radical Carnival on Sunday (January 28) to celebrate the Club’s 2017 Champions. Andre Walcott and Terrance Ollivierre, Champion Driver and Champion Rider respectively, emerged victorious from the 60 competitors on two and four wheels who scored points in BPMSI-administered Championships, many of whom headed to St Philip to join in the celebrations.


Records fall as Esuf leads Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup

 After three victories in the six events of the third Radical Carnival at Bushy Park Barbados (January 27/28), Suleman Esuf is the early leader of the 2018 Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup. Sean Maloney, who established a new Qualifying Lap Record on Sunday, won twice to lie second in the standings, with brother Stuart third, after a string of second-place finishes.


Double Masters Champion heads for Radical Carnival

Marcello Marateotto, twice the Radical European Masters Champion, leads the overseas attack at Bushy Park Barbados this weekend (January 27/28) as the renamed Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup gets under way. The Italian racer will join drivers from England and the United States to take on some of the region’s best as the third Radical Carnival launches the 2018 competition season at the St Philip facility.


Changes at Barbados Motoring Federation ahead of new season

As the Barbados Motoring Federation (BMF) prepares for this weekend’s start of the 2018 motor sport season, it does so without long-standing Vice-President John Sealy, who has retired. In a heartfelt tribute to the former VP, BMF President Andrew Mallalieu acknowledged that “replacing John with just one person is impossible”, so there will be some changes in the BMF structure.

Radical Carnival launches new Bushy Park Barbados season

The third Radical Carnival, which coincides with the British race and road car manufacturer’s 21st Anniversary, will launch the 2018 competition season at Bushy Park Barbados over the last weekend of this month (January 27/28). Organised by Bushy Park Motor Sport Inc (BPMSI), the race programme will run under the all-arena lighting on Saturday evening, with a day-time schedule on Sunday.


BPCI appointed regional dealer for Radical Sportscars

Bushy Park Circuit Inc (BPCI) has been appointed an official dealer for Radical Sportscars; in an arrangement agreed earlier this month, a new entity, Radical Caribbean, will now represent the British race and road car manufacturer throughout all regional territories. The St Philip facility’s first race meeting of 2018 will be the third Radical Carnival over the weekend of January 27/28.


Back-to-back CMRC titles for Maloney and Thompson

Mark Maloney and Mark Thompson clinched back-to-back Seaboard Marine Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) titles on Sunday (November 11) in the final round of the regional series at South Dakota in Guyana. With one race win and a second-place finish each, they are respectively the 2017 Group 4 (2wd) and Group 2 Champions, Thompson bringing his total of CMRC championship crowns to four.



© 2018