Boodoosingh sets new fastest lap time at Bushy Park

Trinidad & Tobago’s Kristian Boodoosingh clocked the fastest-ever lap of Bushy Park Barbados during last weekend’s (January 18/19) Engineering & Driver Development Workshop hosted by Radical Caribbean. His time of 57.196s, set in a Radical SR8 RS, was the first sub 58-second time recorded on the 2.01-kilometre International Circuit in an officially timed session.

While ‘Boodoostig’s time will not stand as a record, as it was not set in racing conditions, it is approaching a second under the current Outright Lap Record, 58.113s, established by Mark Maloney in his Radical SR3 RS in September 2017. The T&T ace completed 27 laps across three of the weekend’s four test sessions, dialling in his 2.7-litre V8-engined Radical before shipping it to Jamaica, where he will compete against the likes of Kyle Gregg in his Radical RX8.

Aimed at both existing and potential Radical Caribbean Cup (RCC) participants and their pit crews, the Workshop attracted teams from Barbados, Guyana and Jamaica, as well as T&T; alongside on-track test sessions for the drivers, classroom and pit lane practical sessions were well-attended by regional technicians. It was conducted by race engineers and driver coaches from UK-based Kokoro Performance, led by its head of driver development Kieren Clark, who worked closely with Zane Maloney during his successful British F4 campaign in 2019.

Maloney, who won five 2019 Caribbean Cup races, was the fastest driver of the six in 1500cc Suzuki-powered Radical RS3s; although he ran only briefly on Saturday morning, his time of 58.206s was better than his father Sean’s Qualifying Record of 58.221s from January 2018. Boodoosingh’s team-mate Luke Bhola, who completed 47 laps over the weekend, was second (58.769s), with former SR3 Champion Suleman Esuf third quickest (58.784s), shaking off the rust after more than a year at the wheel of a Radical.

Two newcomers to the Radical SR3 clocked impressive times, similar to those of the more experienced competitors: former Barbados Karting Association Cadet Champion Kyffin Simpson (58.884s) and Guyana’s Raymond Seebarran (59.477s) each completed nearly 60 laps of testing, while Jamaica’s Horatio Brown, who contested the regional series in 2019, clocked a time of 59.615s.

Three drivers, former SR3 race-winner Isa Deen (T&T), Barbados race and rally driver Justin Campbell and Jamaica’s Senna Summerbell drove the smaller-engined (1340cc) Radical SR3 used in Bushy Park Driving Experiences; impressively, their times were not far off those recorded in the regular race cars.

Radical Caribbean Cup Manager Kurt Seabra was delighted with the weekend: “The effort put in by everyone over the weekend is a really positive sign ahead of the new season. In the 1500cc Cup cars, Raymond Seebarran was a revelation on his first outing, while Luke Bhola and Horatio Brown lapped faster than ever before, all this with valuable input from the guys at Kokoro. Then there is Kyffin Simpson, just 14 years old and already showing that he has the pace to compete with much more experienced drivers. Isa Deen, Justin Campbell and Senna Summerbell should feel really pleased with the times they set in our 1340cc School Car, when you consider the car is on standard ratios, not those specific to Bushy Park.”

The 2020 RCC will open in Barbados on March 15 at Bushy Park Motorsport Inc’s (BPMSI) first fixture of the new decade, returning for the annual BPMSI International Race Meet on August 29/30. A first visit to the Dover Raceway, hosted by the Jamaica Race Drivers Club (JRDC), is provisionally scheduled for Easter Monday (April 13), while rounds three and four will be staged by the Trinidad & Tobago Automobile Sports Association (TTASA) at the Frankie Boodram International Raceway on June 28 and July 19. The Guyana Motor Racing & Sports Club (GMR&SC) will organise the traditional year-end finale at South Dakota over the weekend of November 7/8.

Radical Workshop 2020 - Testing
January 18/19, Bushy Park Barbados

Radical SR8 RS (2700cc)
1 Kristian Boodoosingh (T&T), 57.196s
Radical SR3 RS (1500cc)
1 Zane Maloney (BAR), 58.206s
2 Luke Bhola (T&T), 58.769s
3 Suleman Esuf (BAR), 58.784s
4 Kyffin Simpson (BAR), 58.884s
5 Raymond Seebarran (GUY), 59.477s
6 Horatio Brown (JAM), 59.615s
Radical SR3 RS (1340cc)
1 Isa Deen (T&T), 60.349s
2 Justin Campbell (BAR), 60.858s
3 Senna Summerbell (JAM), 61.057s

Editor’s Note
The Radical Caribbean Cup is administered by Bushy Park Circuit Inc (BPCI), which was appointed sole distributor for Radical Sportscars in the Caribbean in 2017; based in the East Midlands city of Peterborough, the British manufacturer has built more than 2,000 cars, progressing from the iconic Clubsport model produced in 1997 and which established the company’s reputation, to the SR8, which brought Le Mans Prototype pace to the UK national racing scene.

For media information only. No regulatory value

For more information on Bushy Park Barbados: or

For further media information, contact Bushy Park Barbados Media Team: e-mail:


© 2020