Although the Barbados Rally Club’s (BRC) 2003 Drivers’ Championship is now complete, there is still one more competitive event to go, a chance to put aside the pressures of scoring points and enjoy the day. More than 30 assorted four-wheel-drive vehicles are expected to take part in the BRC 4 x 4 Safari on Saturday (November 22).
Honours are even so far this year, with March’s BTC Navigational Test won by father and son team Stephen and Roger Mayers, then the June Safari being claimed by husband and wife team Leslie and Annalee Alleyne. Well, Saturday’s competition will be a little different – the Mayers duo are again entered but, while they won’t come head-to-head with the Alleyne family, Leslie will still be challenging them, as it was he and Derek Gill who set this weekend’s route!
Saturday’s route starts in the pits at the Vaucluse Raceway in St Thomas at 1.30pm and will take drivers through the parishes of St Thomas, St Peter, St James, St Joseph, and St John on their way to the finish at Colleton Plantation at around 7:30pm. The route is about 85 per cent off-road, and navigators will be called upon to use both Tulip and BRC navigation.
In addition to Roger Mayers, the entry includes many names familiar to island motor sport fans, including Sean Gill, who will swap his regular Suzuki Ignis rally car for an Isuzu Pickup navigated by Toyota Corolla regular Kirk Watkins, Group N front-runner Barry Gale (Mitsubishi L200), Cliff Roett (Suzuki Vitara) and Ian ‘Wee-Wee’ Warren, who has recently returned to the island after his rallying exploits in the UK; his navigator will be brother Robert, who shared victory in last year’s June Safari.
There is no timing on the event, the results based on a series of penalties assessed by use of Direction Checks.
Entries opened at the briefing meeting on Wednesday evening at Kendall Sporting, and will close at 1.00pm on Saturday, 30 minutes before the event starts. Anyone considering entering at that time is asked to bring both driver’s licence and proof of road car insurance. The entry fee is $30 per vehicle, with each vehicle permitted to carry only two persons.

For further information:
BRC web site:

BRC 4 x 4 Safari, November 22

Running order
1 Philip McConney/Kenny Croney (Suzuki Samurai)
2 Noel Edwards/Jason Downey (Suzuki Vitara)
3 Chris Beckley/Warren Gollop (Mitsubishi Pajero)
4 Sean Gill/Kirk Watkins (Isuzu Pickup)
5 Peter Bradshaw/Chris Oneal (Land Rover)
6 Trever Mapp/Warwick Eastmond (Suzuki SJ410)
7 Jamal Brathwaite/Brett Barber (Mitsubishi L200)
8 Barry Gale/Fiona Packer (Mitsubishi L200)
9 Jimmy Gittens/Willie Hinds (KDJ Autoparts/Sharp Shot Video Suzuki Samurai)
10 Joshua Plaza/Rashid Nakhuda (Suzuki SJ410)
11 Stephen Mayers/Roger Mayers (Toyota Hilux)
12 Johnny Edwards/Frank Herrera (AMC Jeep)
13 Adam Corbin/Ryan Corbin (Suzuki Vitara)
14 Anthony King/Dave Sealy (Suzuki Samurai)
15 Keri-Dawn Watkins/Lisa Roett (Hankook Tyres Toyota RAV4)
16 Bruce Lambert/Rhett Watson (Mitsubishi L200)
17 Jason Jackson/Alister Patterson (tba)
18 Chris Armstrong/Wayne Clarke (Isuzu Pickup)
19 Cliff Roett/Max Ferri (Suzuki Vitara)
20 Mark Sabga/Christopher Chamely (Kia Sportage)
21 David Lewis/Harcourt Hinkson (Nissan Frontier)
22 Doug Armstrong/Geoffrey Goddard (Toyota Hilux)
23 Michael Ward/Peter Wilkie (Ford Ranger)
24 David St Hill/tba (Toyota Hilux)
25 Gregory Dickenson/Matthew Dickenson (Toyota Hilux)
26 Ian Warren/RobertWarren (Isuki Pickup)
27 Ryan Wood/Darren White (Mitsubishi L200)
28 Allan Bayne/Graham Manning (Suzuki Samurai)
29 John Boldon/Raymond Thompson (Land Rover)


Related News


© 2021