The Barbados Rally Club's (BRC) second one-day Tarmac Rally of the year on Sunday (April 27) may break the deadlock at the head of the championship table. With perfect scores from the first two events, three drivers are currently tied on 32 points - Edward Corbin, Sean Gill and Roger Skeete.
For Skeete, however, there is another battle to be fought first . . . against the clock. Recent work to upgrade the engine of his Texaco/Michelin/McEnearney Quality/Consolidated Finance/Carib Ford Escort WRC in readiness for Rally Barbados is complete, but the engine is yet to be installed in the car. Skeete is hoping not to miss this weekend's crucial event, for which his co-driver will be Clive Howell, standing in for the absent Dave Crawford.
Sunday's event is scheduled for a 9.00am start at the Kendall Plantation Yard in St John; running to a similar format to the club's March event, there will be 12 stages - Todds to Ellesmere, Wilson Hill to Malvern and Stewarts Hill. Each stage will be run twice in the morning and afternoon, with the after-lunch runs in the reverse direction.
Trevor Manning is looking for an upturn in form in the Simpson Motors Racing Team Mitsubishi Evo V; after missing the opening BRC Tarmac Sprint of the season, he suffered mechanical problems on the March rally. And his car has needed repairs, too, following an accident on the recent MCBI Inc event.
Other potential front-runners include the winner of that MCBI Inc event Paul Bourne (Banks/Pirelli/Texaco/Williams Industries Subaru Impreza WRC) - now reunited with regular co-driver Louis Venezia - and Roger Mayers/Max Ferri, who seem finally to have overcome the niggling mechanical problems with the Automotive Art/Shell Helix Ford Focus WRC.
In Group N, Geoffrey Noel/Leslie Alleyne (Napa/Pirelli/AutoZone/Simpson Motors Mitsubishi Evo VI) will face Brian Gill/Ryan Wood (Banks/Pirelli/Texaco/Williams Industries Subaru Impreza WRX) and Harold Morley/Geoff Goddard (Sunbeach Communications Inc Subaru Impreza STi).
Class points-leader Edward Corbin (Automotive Art/Corbin's Garage/Klark-Odio Toyota Corolla SR) also faces tough competition, led by Greg Cozier, another hoping for a better day out, after retiring the Carib/Valvoline Ford Escort RS2000 from the March event. For Sean Gill (Simpson Motors/DaCosta Mannings AutoCentre/Pirelli Suzuki Ignis), however, the class competition is less demanding.

Entry list at Wednesday evening close follows (in alphabetical order in groups)
For further information, contact Robin Bradford ( or 422 1829)
BRC web site:

BRC Drivers Championship 2003 – round 3
Event – BRC Tarmac Rally, April 27, 2003

Modified 9 (including World Rally Cars)
Paul Bourne/Louis Venezia (Banks/Pirelli/Texaco/Williams Industries Subaru Impreza WRC)
Roger Mayers/Max Ferri (Automotive Art/Shell Helix/McEnearney Quality Ford Focus WRC)
Roger Skeete/Clive Howell (Texaco/Michelin/McEnearney Quality/Consolidated Finance/Carib Ford Escort WRC)
Modified 8 (Group A)
Sean Dowding/Jason Cozier (Globe Finance/NPK Construction Mitsubishi Evo V)
Roger Hill/Graham Gittens (Mobil 1/Nassco/Michelin Motormac Toyota Celica GT4)
Trevor Manning/James Betts (Simpson Motors Racing Team Mitsubishi Evo V)
Production 4 (Group N)
Brian Gill/Ryan Wood (Banks/Pirelli/Texaco/Williams Industries Subaru Impreza WRX)
Harold Morley/Geoff Goddard (Sunbeach Communications Inc Subaru Impreza)
Geoffrey Noel/Leslie Alleyne (Napa/Pirelli/AutoZone/Simpson Motors Mitsubishi Evo VI)
Open Modified
Nicholas Gill/Sean Lucas (McEnearney Quality/Toyo Tyres/Carib Mazda Lantis)
Barry Mayers/Adam Hart (Automotive Art/Shell Helix Toyota Starlet)
Cliff Roett/Rhett Watson (Michelin/Nassco/Lucky Horseshoe/Roett's Garage Toyota Corolla)
Jonathan Still/Heath Hazell (Nescafe/Phillips Lighting/Sikkens Paints BMW M3)
Modified 7
Edward Corbin/Mark Perkins (Automotive Art/Corbin's Garage/Klark-Odio Toyota Corolla SR)
John Corbin/Rodney Clarke (Corbin's Garage/Klark-Odio Toyota Corolla)
Greg Cozier/Antonio da Silva (Carib/Valvoline Oil Ford Escort RS2000)
Andrew Jones/Stuart White (A P Jones Pharmacy/World of Nature/Stratford Properties Ford Escort Mk II)
Adrian Linton/Jonathan Linton (AutoZone/Crane & Equipment/Williams Trading Inc Vauxhall Astra)
Modified 6
Neil Armstrong/Ben Armstrong (Nassco/Bridgestone/ProAuto Toyota Starlet)
Sean Gill/Michael Cummins (Simpson Motors/DaCosta Mannings AutoCentre/Pirelli Suzuki Ignis)
Kirk Watkins/Josh Read (Sunbeach Toyota Corolla)
Modified 5
Neil Barnard/Chris Hoyos (Simpson Motors Racing Team Opel Corsa)
Roger Marshall/Bruce Lambert (Photo Finish One Hour Photo/Agfa Film Toyota Starlet)
Production 3
Freddie Gale/Kyle Proverbs (Gale's Hatcheries/Nassco/Castrol Toyota Starlet)
Derek Roach/Tricia Gittens (BS & T Motors/Magna Rewards/NP Lubricants/Sargento/Dupont/Da Costa Mannings AutoCentre/Pinehill Juices Mini Cooper S)

BRC Drivers Championship 2003 – points after two rounds

Modified 9
1 Roger Skeete, 32
2 Paul Bourne, 21
3 Roger Mayers, 5
Modified 8
1 Roger Hill, 26
Production 4
1 Geoff Noel, 29
2 Barry Gale, 20
3 Harold Morley, 19
4 Peter Thompson, 10
Modified Open
1 Barry Mayers, 22
2 Nicholas Gill, 17
3 Jonathon Still, 14
4 St Elmo Cumberbatch, 10
5 Lindsay Farmer, 5
6 Graham Gittens, 4
7 Reggie Gill, 3
Modified 7
1 Edward Corbin, 32
2 John Corbin, 19
3 Geoffrey Ullyett, 7
4 Andrew Jones, 4
5 David Brewster, 3
Modified 6
1 Sean Gill, 32
2 Neil Armstrong, 21
3 Christopher Parkinson, 5
Modified 5
1 Roger Marshall, 15
2 Wayne Manning, 10
3 James Betts, 7
Production 3
1 Freddie Gale, 18
2 Derek Roach, 7
3 Tricia Gittens, 5



© 2021